Durham Challenge Cup Final Defeat

Whickham 0-3 West Auckland Town

Our Durham Challenge Cup journey came to an end in the final at the Stadium of Light on Wednesday evening.

West Auckland gave themselves a healthy half-time lead with goals from Josh Scott and James Harrison.

An Oscar Fletcher strike secured the trophy midway through the second 45.

Both teams played the opening stages with confidence and the first chance of the encounter fell to Josh Scott who fired wide of the post 12 minutes in.

Scott Robson saw his first action of the evening five minutes later as Jack Elliott slotted through Robson but he was stopped by a fine last-ditch tackle from Gary Brown.

The Lang Jacks saw another opportunity minutes later as Nathan Stephenson crossed a ball to the back post which Eddie Thomas flew his body at but just missed contact with the ball.

West Auckland got the opener very soon after as Scott drove towards the penalty area and unleashed an emphatic finish into the bottom corner.

Lee Haldane’s men came the closest they did all evening half an hour in when Dom Agnew played a ball over the top to Robson – who’s strike wasn’t the cleanest – and it narrowly rolled past the post.

On the stroke of half-time it was 2-0 as James Harrison picked up the ball on the edge of the area and hit a rocket into the top corner.

Whickham came out for the second period with intent and minutes in Robson hit hard and low from 20 yards which went wide of the post and had goalkeeper Nick Liversedge worried.

On the hour mark Neal Bussey made a smart save down to his right to deny Fletcher from 25 yards out.

Fletcher did however score soon after as he worked a yard of space on the edge of the area and placed the ball into the bottom corner.

Whickham did almost find a consolation through Stephenson when he struck a dipping shot from far out which hit the top of the bar.

Everyone at Whickham FC would like to thank all those who made the trip to Sunderland to support the team.

Whickham XI: Bussey; Munro ©, Agnew, T.Galbraith (Bisset), Lavery; Howard (Burrell), Leech (Martindale), Stephenson (Davies); Elliott, Robson, Thomas (Johnson).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *